Hi friend,

My name is Marissa (she/her). I’m so excited to share that I’ve joined the Ex Fabula team as their new Administrative Assistant! My position will mostly focus on volunteer coordination & connections and detailed data entry. P.S. I’m super excited about the data entry; I really love spreadsheets. This new role was created so that our Ex Fabula team can reach even more communities and continue spotlighting the personal stories of people just like you!

I first discovered Ex Fabula as an audience member and later as a volunteer in 2020. I was intrigued by seemingly simple events of storytelling in well-loved places around Milwaukee. Although my first Slam was virtual, perfect for a cozy night in during peak pandemic. I later discovered that StorySlams, in fact, serve a larger mission: empowering folks’ voices and connecting community through sharing stories and spaces. I have been enamored ever since.

I have somewhat of a patchwork quilt background, securely stitched together with coffee, music, and yoga. I’ve worked in the service industry all my life, often joking that it’s where I belong after growing up in a back booth of the diner my mom worked at when I was a kid. And so, I retailed, bartended, and barista’d my way through high school in North Fond du Lac, undergrad studies at UWM, and two years of service to Public Allies Wisconsin.

My time with Public Allies was truly monumental for me. I was partnered with two lovely environmental non-profit organizations, which allowed me to combine my care for the environment with hands-on work and community building. I loved getting my hands dirty in community gardens in all corners of Milwaukee. Public Allies also taught me about self-discovery, bravery, and about failure and transparency. For the first time, I found myself surrounded by people who were willingly to lovingly challenge me, hold space for me, and celebrate me. I’m proud of what I’ve learned from those two years and continue to bring those lessons with me into new spaces.

When I’m not working, you can find me hiking, kayaking, biking, camping, and all things traveling (I’m talking Italy, Zion Nat’l Park, and the Bourbon Trail 2023!). I’m also a barista, a novice watercolor painter, and a cat parent to Ignacio and Monty. Oh, and lastly: I created and lead a monthly theme-based book club! This personal project came alive in hopes of connecting to my friends and community through mutual love of literature and stories. Ask me about it, maybe you’d like to join!

Well, that’s enough about me. I hope we get to meet each other soon!

All the love,